LibGuides: Surgical Technology: APA

What is APA?

What is APA?

APA is the official citation style of the American Psychological Association.

What should I use APA style for?

formatting your paper
in-text citations
creating a "References" page at the end of your paper

What subject areas use APA?

Social Sciences, such as Psychology, Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, and Criminology
Business
Nursing

IMPORTANT: If you're not sure which citation style you're supposed to use, contact your instructor.

APA Resources

See examples and explanations of APA style at the OWL Purdue Site.

Sample Papers
This page contains several sample papers formatted in seventh edition APA Style.
PowerPoint Slide References
This page contains reference examples for PowerPoint slides or lecture notes

APA Format

APA Style Format and Citation Examples, 7th Edition

Sample Student Paper

Citing Websites

Citing a website with no author listed.

Writing Website In-Text Citations and References
How to do in-text citations and references for a website, explained in detail.

FVCC Writing Lab: APA Resources

How to do an APA Annotated Bibliography
Includes instructions and examples.
Use of First Person in APA Style
Determine when and how to write in first person using APA style.
APA Style Format and Citation Examples, 7th Edition
Information on how to format your papers and create both in-text and bibliographic citations.
How to Cite Direct Quotations
Examples of citations of a direct quote in correct APA Style, citing the author, year, and page number.
How to Cite Multiple Pages From the Same Website
if you quote or paraphrase information from individual pages on a website, you must create a unique reference for each one.
How to Cite Part of a Work
Describes how to cite just part of a work—such as a footnote, table, figure, chapter in an authored book, paragraph, section, or page—in an APA Style paper.
Integrating Quotations into Your APA Paper
Guidelines and examples of how to integrate quotations smoothly into your writing to avoid choppy, incoherent sentences.
Digital Object Identifier (DOI) Guidelines (7th ed.)
Guidelines on how to find and format DOIs in journal articles.
Strong Verbs and Transitions
Includes a list of verbs as well as transition words to improve academic writing. Examples of how to use these words in APA style citations are also included.
Quick Reference APA Style Guide, 7th Edition
Chart of references for APA style in 7th edition on different kinds of citations.
Title Page Example, Nursing Student Version
Annotated example of a title page for a nursing research paper.

APA Levels of Heading
Headings give structure to your writing. They not only tell the reader what content to expect but also speak to its relative position within a hierarchy. Includes example showing font and indentation formatting for when all five levels are used.
How many times do I cite the same source in a paragraph?
Provides examples and guidelines for in-text citations.