LibGuides: Physical Therapy: Internet Research

Recommended E-Resources

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to Enhance PubMed Search Strategies
Useful CINAHL article you can use to find appropriate physical therapy articles.

PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 37,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by Musculoskeletal Health Sydney, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).
Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy (JOSPT)
JOSPT publishes scientifically rigorous, clinically relevant content for physical therapists and others in the health care community to advance musculoskeletal and sports-related practice.
Rehabilitation Measures Database
The Rehabilitation Clinician's Place to Find the Best Instruments to Screen Patients and Monitor Their Progress
PubMed for Nurses
Good introduction to searching PubMed. Includes videos on how to search, how to find clinical queries, and using medical subject heading to find information.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents.
US National Library of Medicine
A hub for medical research related to public health, health information technology, biomedicine, and grant/funding opportunities. FVCC has membership status, so additional videos and webinars are available. Contact the library for more information.
National Institute of Health
A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families. Includes information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. Information is from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 1000 diseases and conditions. Includes directories, medical encyclopedia & medical dictionary, prescription and nonprescription drugs information, and links to clinical trials.
Medlline Guide to Medical Research
Includes articles, videos, tutorials, links to expert help, and statistics to provide guidelines for medical research.
Women's Health
Health Information for women and girls.

Explore Anatomical Structures

BIODIGITAL HUMAN
This is a free Chrome add on that lets you explore the human body in 3D detail.
Zygote Body
Using the free version you can view a male or female body, rotate the body, and click on body parts to find the names of nerves, muscles, and bones.
The Classic Gray's Anatomy
This is a free website with of the classic Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body with color engravings and a comprehensive subject index.

PT Assistant Specializations

Additional Resources PT Assistant Specializations

Select the Website link and then look for the Resources tab to get more information. Some sites provide access to a listserv.

Acute Care Profile | Website
Aquatics Profile | Website
Clinical Electrophysiology and Wound Management Profile | Website

Core Competencies for Entry-Level Physical Therapist Assistants in the Acute Care Setting
APTA article

Montana Physical Therapy Agencies

Montana Chapter of APTA
MAPTA works to meet the physical therapy needs of the public through the development and improvement of physical therapy education, practice and research and to meet the needs of its members through identification, coordinated action, communication and fellowship.
Montana Board of Physical Therapy Examiners
Physical Therapy Assistant Exam information
Montana Healthy Communities
Includes events and training, as well as information about Montana Rural Health initiatives.

Government Organizations

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Use the A-Z index in upper right-hand part of page to find specific topics.
World Health Organization
Includes over 1000 health status indicators, medical journals, and the World Health Report.
Evidence-Based Practice Centers
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services provides contact information and websites for Evidence-based Practice Centers.

Government Statistics

World Heath Organization Statistics
Check here for statistical reports on various health problems, as well as country health reports.
National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) compiles statistical information for research.

Problems with Googling Information

Kahn, Joseph. "Be Wary about Health Information You Get on the Internet." St. Louis Post Dispatch [St. Louis] 19 Aug. 2010, Health ed. 19 Aug. 2010. Web. 1 Oct. 2010.

The scholarly article summarized above: Scullard, P., Peacock, C., & Davies, P. (2010). Googling children's health: reliability of medical advice on the internet. Archives Of Disease In Childhood, 95(8), 580-582. Retrieved from PubMed.